Menu: Skip within this page



Please provide feedback on the SBN website.


SBN Data by Target Type: Comets

Use the menu at right to jump to a specific comet that has been the target of a small bodies mission or has been extensively observed through a coordinated campaign. There are also a number of surveys that may have an observation of a comet that is not in the list.
You can also use the SBN Ferret:

1P/1682 Q1 (Halley 1)

2P/1818 W1 (Encke 1)

4P/1843 W1 (Faye 1)

6P/1851 M1 (d'Arrest 1)

7P/1858 E1 (Ponns-Winnecke 1)

8P/1858 A1 (Tuttle 1)

9P/1867 G1 (Tempel 1)

10P/1873 N1 (Tempel 2)

19P/1904 Y2 (Borrelly 1)

21P/1900 Y1 (Giacobini-Zinner 1)

22P/1906 Q1 (Kopff 1)

23P/1847 O1 (Brorsen-Metcalf 1)

24P/1911 X1 (Schaumasse 1)

26P/1922 K1 (Grigg-Skjellerup 1)

27P/1928 W1 (Crommelin 1)

29P/1927 V1 (Schwassmann-Wachmann 1)

31P/1929 B1 (Schwassmann-Wachmann 2)

38P/1942 V1 (Stephan-Oterma 1)

45P/1948 X1 (Honda-Mrkos-Pajdusakova 1)

46P/1948 A1 (Wirtanen 1)

48P/1949 Q1 (Johnson 1)

49P/1951 C2 (Arend-Rigaux 1)

67P/1969 R1 (Churyumov-Gerasimenko 1)

81P/1978 A2 (Wild 2)

95P/1977 UB (Chiron) [(2060) Chiron]

97P/1906 V2 (Metcalf-Brewington 1)

98P/1984 O1 (Takamizawa 1)

103P/1986 E2 (Hartley 2)

107P/1949 W1 (Wilson-Harrington 1)

109P/1862 O1 (Swift-Tuttle 1)

122P/1846 D1 (deVico 1)

133P/1996 N2 (Elst-Pizarro 1)

140P/1983 C1 (Bowell-Skiff 1)

141P/1994 P1-A (Machholz 2)

143P/1984 H1 (Kowal-Mrkos 1)

262P/1994 X1 (McNaught-Russell)

354P/2010 A2 (LINEAR 58)

C/1978 T1 (Seargent)

C/1979 Y1 (Bradfield)

C/1980 V1 (Meier)

C/1980 Y2 (Panther)

C/1982 M1 (Austin)

C/1983 H1 (IRAS-Araki-Alcock)

C/1983 J1 (Sugano-Saigusa-Fujikawa)

C/1983 O1 (Cernis)

C/1984 V1 (Levy-Rudenko)

C/1985 R1 (Hartley-Good)

C/1986 P1 (Wilson)

C/1987 B1 (Nishikawa-Takamiziwa-Tago)

C/1987 P1 (Bradfield)

C/1987 U3 (McNaught)

C/1987 W1 (Ichimura)

C/1989 A1 (Yanaka)

C/1989 Q1 (Okazaki-Levy-Rudenko)

C/1989 X1 (Austin)

P/1991 L3 (Levy 1)

C/1991 T2 (Shoemaker-Levy)

C/1991 Y1 (Zanotta-Brewington)

D/1993 F2 (Shoemaker-Levy 9)

C/1995 O1 (Hale-Bopp)

C/1996 B2 (Hyakutake)

C/2002 T7 (LINEAR)

C/2004 Q2 (Machholz)

C/2009 P1 (Garradd)

C/2012 K1 (PanSTARRS)

D/2012 S1 (ISON)

C/2013 A1 (Siding Spring)

C/2014 E2 (Jacques)

SOHO Comet Sungrazers